Possibly Moving

And by moving, I mean switching blog hosting sites.  Not being able to use mouseover links from Wowhead creates serious design flow problems in my blog and I don’t like it.  I’ve been going through cata.wowhead to get a jump on item lists and it would be so damn nice to have the mouseover feature for that kind of post.

I’ll keep you posted, but as soon as I find a site that supports it, I will be relocating.

Pain in my ass. :(

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Possibly Moving

  1. Aqusinna says:

    Johnny says it best:

    “Ehh, e-everyone stay calm… because we’re all doomed! “

  2. lissanna says:

    I can get you info on what we use as a hosting service for my wordpress-based blog that allows wowhead mouse-overs. :)

    • Reesi says:

      I think blogspot does honestly… it’s just that I have no idea where to throw the script I was emailed earlier. ><

      Though, you could do that too. ;P

      • Chestnut says:

        When I use the script for blogger, I just post it at the top of my entry in the area before going over to the WYSIWIG editor.

        Brought over by BBB and loving it, by the way. Really helpful in getting me to relearn specific spells (I for one, did not realize that Lacerate was what refreshed my Mangle *facepalm*) and (finally!!) reforge.

        Thanks for all your hard work! Bookmarked, etc. :D

  3. Kae says:

    All it takes is access to the page’s html and pasting in a script link to wowhead’s javascript thinger in the head, where the page also links CSS stylesheets and metadata. Wowhead has instructions here: http://www.wowhead.com/tooltips

  4. Rustafur says:

    For what it’s worth, I’ve used Site5 hosting for a few years now and have nothing but good luck with them. They handle domain name registration as well as site hosting, and support quite a few blogging platforms and very wide variety of other frameworks.

  5. zelmaru says:

    The way I see it, there are 3 options:
    (1) upgrade your wordpress hosting for a fee to allow the modification.
    (2) Blogspot does allow wowhead tooltips (you can add as an invisible gadget to the sidebar) but moving your stuff from wordpress to blogspot can be a chore – and their native commenting system sucks.
    (3) Or you could wordpress self-host.

  6. Ampzilla says:

    You can do it with BlogSpot like you said. And depending on what you mean by the “script you were emailed” you can literally put it anywhere. Typically (since I only ever need mouse over tool-tips inside of any given post) I put the little script right inside the html for the post.

    I guess it’s not that helpful though if you want to have links to WoWHead anywhere and everywhere on the site. Again though Blogger allows you to edit the HTML pretty freely so you could add the script just about anywhere.

    I’m not sure how hard porting stuff over from WordPress is, but based on the comments above I’d assume it’s rather annoying.

  7. Faeldray says:

    I have my own self-hosted WordPress blog and host several of my guildies’ blogs as well so I’ve got some experience with WordPress and importing old posts. If you’re interested in help or even some hosting, just send me an email and we can discuss it. :)

Leave a comment